Distinguished Service to Healthcare Award

This award is presented periodically to an individual in recognition of their contributions to improving healthcare in the state of Utah. The individual may be recognized for a specific significant contribution, or for accumulated contributions during the lifetime of the nominee.


Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees must demonstrate leadership in the improvement of healthcare delivery in Utah, with involvement in activities resulting in the improvement, or having the potential to improve, the health of Utah’s citizens. Criteria to be considered include leadership positions served, personal commitment, public commitment and financial commitment to improving the health of Utah’s citizens.
  • Nominees must be Utah citizens at the time of their nomination.
  • Although all nominees will be considered, those serving the healthcare sector as providers, trustees, public officials, hospital employees, auxilians or major donors will receive primary consideration.
  • Recipients must be available to attend the awards ceremony to be eligible.
  • Nominations must be seconded by a member of the UHA Board of Trustees.

Determination of Awardee

  • UHA will solicit nominations for this award on an annual basis. A selected judging committee will review the nominations and determine if and to whom the award is presented.
  • This award is based entirely on merit and may not be presented every year. Nominations will be carried over for up to three years from the initial nomination for consideration.
  • The President of UHA will serve as Chair of the Judging Committee. The President will select no more than five individuals to serve with him/her on the judging committee.
  • In the event of a split decision, the President of UHA will determine if the award should be presented or nominees carried over into the coming year.

Past Recipients

  • 1981—George L. Veasy, M.D.
  • 1982—Richard A. Call, M.D.
  • 1983—Sister Francis Forester
  • 1984—John A. Dixon, M.D.
  • 1985—Gary D. Lower, M.D.
  • 1986—George F. Snell, M.D.
  • 1987—Twila Van Leer
  • 1988—John Wilson, M.D.
  • 1989—Kim Bateman, M.D.
  • 1990—Scott S. Parker
  • 1992—Norma Matheson
  • 1993—David Jeppson
  • 1994—Merrill Gappmayer
  • 1995—Governor Michael O. Leavitt
  • 2002—David E. Dangerfield, D.S.W.
  • 2007—Robert Reeder and Richard Smith
  • 2013—L. Rod Betit
  • 2014—Donald Lappé, MD
  • 2016—Linda Leckman, MD
  • 2017—Charles Sorenson, MD, FACS and Mark R. Stoddard
  • 2018—Barbara Viskochil, University of Utah Health Care
  • 2019—Spencer Fox Eccles, Intermountain Healthcare
  • 2021—Arlen Jarrett, MD